Stalking a stranger on the interweb

First of all, my apologies to anyone who didn’t mean to end up here. My last post (Free yarn!!) had a much higher number of views than my posts usually get and I belatedly realise that people may have thought I was giving, rather than receiving. Sorry for any confusion caused  🙂

On to the aforementioned stalking! I mentioned last time that I had been knitting a Jack  sweater for Youngest Boy when I ran out of yarn. That was because I wished and hoped that the five balls of Debbie Bliss cotton DK I had in my stash would somehow equal the seven balls of Rowan handknit cotton that the pattern called for. (And yes, although the Rowan is technically an aran and the Debbie Bliss is technically a dk, they actually have the same gauge on 4mm needles.) As has been demonstrated to me before, however, you cannot make [smaller amount] stretch to be the same as [larger amount], so, obviously, I ran out of yarn.

SONY DSC

Now, I did know that I was going to run out. What I didn’t know was that the colour I was using (Mint) had been discontinued in that particular shade and a new Mint created with a different number in a different colour. I had knitted knowing I was going to run out so I did both the sleeves and an equal amount of the front and back. (Worst case scenario, I thought, would be finishing it in a different shade but at least it would look intentional.)

However, after finding that there was no more of my shade to be had for love nor money anywhere from any yarn shop, I start scraping the barrel. (Just in case.) Nothing on ebay. Then I start on Ravelry stashes. And oh, for the love of yarn, there it is. EIGHT balls of not just the same shade but the same actual dyelot as mine (for the uninitiated, dyelots allow you to match the shade exactly because the yarn was all dyed at the same time. With the best will in the world there are often small differences between different dyelots. Sometimes this doesn’t matter but sometimes it does, which is why it’s important to check all your yarn is the same dyelot for a project.) So now I know that there’s More Yarn out there in the world, I am very, very happy. No substitute will satisfy, as a Victorian advertisement for beef tea or corsets might have put it.

So I dash off an excited Ravelry message to the happy owner of the trade-or-sell yarn I need.

Three days have passed, and instead of the cheerful willingness to sell me the yarn I hoped for, I have in my inbox exactly – nada.

Now, I have looked at the lovely yarn-owner’s profile on Ravelry and I see that she has an Etsy shop. And Pinterest, and Instagram, and Facebook, and Twitter.  The question I am asking myself is – how many messages, on how many different fora, is too many messages. When does it start to look weird? I’m guessing I shouldn’t just turn up on her doorstep and beg. But I feel like another message. Or two? might be ok…

One thought on “Stalking a stranger on the interweb

  1. Pingback: Making a sweater bigger – Knit Oxford

Leave a Reply

