There was a plan…

I liked the Plan. It was a good plan. It used up lots of bits of yarn, some of which had sentimental value. It meant a whole new sweater without having to buy (much) more yarn. It was a pleasingly complicated project that I was using to try out a new technique. It looked good on paper.

Unfortunately, I hate it.

It’s taken me a long time to admit this. I was proud of the pattern-fiddling I did to get to this stage

SONY DSC

I was proud of the two-handed colour-carrying I did to get to this stage

SONY DSC

I was proud of the neatness of my reverse side

SONY DSC

and the emerging solidity of the section that was to be steeked.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

But I. Just. Don’t. Like. It.

I love the yarn (Debbie Bliss baby cashmerino), and I love the colours individually, but together they just look like sludge. There’s something about the ashes-of-roses colour that sucks all the life out what’s normally a lovely bright baby blue. There’s nothing that makes it pop. The navies and purples are ok. But there’s no point spending weeks on something I’m going to end up avoiding wearing. I think I have to do what I’ve been kind of avoiding thinking about. All that yarn can be made into Other Things. R-r-r-r-i-p.

One thought on “There was a plan…

  1. Pingback: “At the same time…” | Knit Oxford

Leave a Reply

