Oh God, Oh God, it takes forever…

Okay, it’s not like I didn’t know what I was getting into. Alice Starmore herself, in the book (Fisherman’s Sweaters), describes it as an ‘heirloom’ sweater. Which is delightful knitterly shorthand for ‘will take you literally the rest of your life to knit and if you’re not done you can pass it on to your children’. It’s a big sweater on tiny needles (2.25mm and 2.75mm, which as a rough guide is normally what you knit dress socks with, not giant jumpers) and I knit and I knit and I knit and NOTHING HAPPENS.SONY DSC

As an aside, it would probably help if I hadn’t cast on a sweater for the Husband in the interim, but I swear they’ve had equal knitting time since Christmas and while His sweater is now half done, I have achieved exactly those five inches of sleeve on My sweater. No chance it’ll be done this winter – that’ll mean it goes into its fourth winter on the needles.

However, it does mean you get a look at His. It’s Mr Darcy, a free pattern from Cheryl Niamath and it’s a nice, plain sweater livened up with a funnel neck and dot stitch.SONY DSC

Given that the Husband has the deepest suspicion of anything smacking of pattern (unless it’s a skull, or a wolf holding a flaming torch, or a Viking zombie, which I decline to attempt), a  very simple sweater in a lightly variegated yarn is about as much as I get to knit.SONY DSC

The yarn is Debbie Bliss Riva in Cork, which is warm but also (judging by the cowl I wore all last winter) fairly disinclined to pill. I’ve knitted him sweaters in merino before:SONY DSC

but this is what that lovely soft merino looks like now…

SONY DSCPilled to death. Anyway, back to the hell of tiny needles, skinny yarn and the Sweater That Just Won’t Quit.

 

One thought on “Oh God, Oh God, it takes forever…

  1. Pingback: Unsatisfactory. Do it again. | Knit Oxford

Leave a Reply

