Mostly ‘armless

Sorry, it was just too hard to resist a Douglas Adams pun when it was sitting staring up at me.SONY DSC

I stalled on this sweater again, both in general and in particular. In general because I don’t really believe it’s going to suit me so I feel no desperate urge to finish it. I respect it a great deal – I think its mathematical exactness is deeply satisfying, I think it’ll be very warm and quite possibly waterproof – but that’s not the same as really liking it. The yarn (Frangipani Crushed Raspberry) is fairly stiff, in traditional gansey style, and I feel there’s every chance the sweater will stand up by itself rather than being in any way a wearable hug. And I’m stalled in particular because I’m at the point of picking up stitches for the sleeves, which has to be a precise number and – frankly – is going to be a ballache. However, in the hope that blogging about it will force me back to it out of guilt, here we are. I’ll let you know if it works.

In the meantime I reknitted a GarnStudio sweater that my mother had made for the Oldest Boy (if you haven’t previously been warned of the pitfalls of GarnStudio patterns, be aware that they’re translated in a somewhat gnomic style and are full of traps for the unwary). This one, when received, had an extra five inches of random strap on each sleeve that gave the sewn-up article a sort of leg o’ mutton effect on each shoulder. Probably quite fetching in the right context. This is what it should look like. SONY DSCThere isn’t a ‘before’ pic but imagine a sort of squared-off epaulette coming out of each shoulder and you won’t be far off.

I also got involved with my new sewing machine in an intense way. It was a birthday present earlier this month and I took advantage of having lots of fabric and ribbon odds and ends:SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSCMore of those on their way, because they’re terribly handy for storing all those toys that come with random extra bits.

 

One thought on “Mostly ‘armless

  1. Pingback: Rookie error | Knit Oxford

Leave a Reply

