How big can it possibly get?

As usual, my gritted-teeth sweater-monogamy has lapsed and I’ve been bullied into making a triceratops by a three-year-old (who came up with the low strategy of asking me for it again when my mother was visiting, ensuring I had to do something about it).

I had been meaning to knit some dinosaurs, but of course something else (like a sweater for Me) always comes up. However I dutifully went to knit group on Tuesday and found some 50% wool, 50% acrylic chunky in the shop – Rico Essentials Big. And started knitting this pattern from Knitted Dinosaurs. It is rapidly becoming clear (after another trip to the shop for more yarn) that this thing is going to be enormous. The original pattern was for DK but I like quite solid knitted toys and I also like to knit the fabric quite tightly so I’m using 6mms on a yarn that the yarn shop told me was chunky but turned out to be super-chunky. The ball-band recommends 8mms. God knows how huge it would be if I’d used their needle size. As it is, I think it’s already bigger than the baby. That’s my foot, for purposes of comparison, and I’m halfway through the body…SONY DSC

How big is a life size triceratops?

One thought on “How big can it possibly get?

  1. Pingback: Drunken triceratops | Knit Oxford

Leave a Reply

