Look away, loss-of-self-control here

I know, I know, I know. I shouldn’t be casting on a new sweater while I’m arm-deep in the Shepherd hoody. BUT – it’s frogged yarn from a sweater that didn’t really work on a practical level (and reknitting something doesn’t count in the same way as new knitting), and I’ve already not-cast-on another sweater that I really, really wanted to, AND I haven’t even spent the local-yarn-store vouchers that have been burning a hole in my pocket since Christmas Day. So when you think about it, I’ve actually exercised a heroic level of self-control already and can therefore cast on with a light heart. It’s in aran on 5mm needles and it’s for a person who’s less than a metre tall, so how long can it possibly take?

SONY DSC

(Actually I know I’m not the only knitter who gets January start-it-is and my personal theory is that it’s caused by the head-space/thinking time you get back when Christmas is out of the way and all the Stuff associated with it has been put back in storage. I haven’t been able to do knitting calculations or dream up new projects for a few weeks but now all the hoo-ha is out of the way my brain’s buzzing with Things I Want To Make. Not enough hours in the day.)

This is the sweater that it’s been frogged from, anywaySONY DSC

and judging by my experience I would recommend not making a colourwork sweater with patterns located in a handy place for picky little fingers. The sleeve and bottom-edge pattern has been yanked tight several times by absent-minded float-pulling (floats are the loops on the back where the non-working yarn is carried) and it takes ages to redistribute the tension. So she’s getting the same yarn in a different sweater, and hopefully with the patterns well out of the way!

One thought on “Look away, loss-of-self-control here

Leave a Reply

