B-o-r-i-n-g and b-o-r-e-d

Remind me never, ever again to do a project in garter stitch on tiny needles with slubby yarn. It takes forever to get anywhere and I can’t even knit on autopilot because the yarn is kind of catchy and lumpy, so I’m in constant danger of splitting it or generally knitting ‘wrong’ unless I Look At What I’m Doing All The Time. Which is rubbish.

SONY DSC

I’m not especially wild about the pattern, either. It’s a GarnStudio pattern, and although it was free it’s often quite hard to follow – there’s the occasional instruction in shouty capitals with a paragraph of its own and exclamation marks. The shouty instructions are usually something non-critical like REMEMBER THE GAUGE! whereas something moderately crucial like ‘At the same time decrease one stitch towards neck edge every four rows’ is buried in a whole paragraph of text. Plus they’ve written a jacket pattern for 4ply on 3mm needles, which in my humble opinion makes far too loose a fabric for a jacket. And while I’m complaining about it, I’d say that their 5-6 year old size has never been near an actual 5-6 year old, as the correctly-gauged sleeve that I knitted according to their instructions wouldn’t even go around my 3 year old’s wrist.

SONY DSC

Despite all this, I quite like the construction, and because of the way it’s put together I can just knit to my own chosen gauge and number of stitches, on the size of needle I like, to get a fabric I’m happy with, that actually has a chance of fitting the child it’s for.

It’s still a pain to knit, though, and I don’t even really know why I’m continuing to knit it when I’ve got four other projects on the go, every one of which I prefer.  I would call it masochism but my understanding is that masochists enjoy it (presumably that’s the point). This is just tedious and unsatisfying. On the other hand it will be finished at some point, and apparently if you knit on just one thing it goes a lot faster than if you knit on four others simultaneously. So perhaps there’s a part of my brain that understands that finishing it sooner rather than later would be better for my sanity and drives me to pick it up every flipping day!

Leave a Reply

