Finally?

This is a project with a v-e-r-y long gestation. The word is apposite because the main reason it’s been sitting unloved for three and a half years is that I’ve been pregnant or breastfeeding or both for three and a half years. Neither of which is compatible with a skinny-knit delicate beaded cardigan. And there was no way I was going to knit on something I couldn’t wear.

However, childbearing is in abeyance (for the moment) so I’m getting going on it again. It’s maddening to knit for several reasons

i) it’s in 4ply so it’s r-e-a-l-l-y slow progress at the best of times

ii) the beads don’t ‘slide’ down the yarn, I have to shove them all along so I’m stopping to do that every few inches

iii) the yarn has a lot of breaks (three in the current ball alone) so I’m having to take off all the beads and re-thread them on a regular basis (and of course if there were too few to start with you have to break off and thread on a load more)

It is not a well-loved project. Plus I’m secretly worried that it’s actually going to be too small. In theory the measurements should fit me but there just doesn’t seem to be very  much of it.

However, I now have a back, two fronts and half a sleeve, so it does feel like progress is being made…

Leave a Reply

