Accidental sweater

I have been Very, Very Good about not buying new yarn. As I’m now self-employed I have a wildly unpredictable income (and even when it is predictable it’s unlikely to be predictable for very long). So apart from buying some sockyarn at the Knitting & Stitching show and some more when I visited friends in Henley (it’s positively rude to be near a lovely shop like Black Hills Yarn and not buy something) I haven’t bought any yarn all year. Not that I needed to in any case as I had about seven sweaters-worth in my stash, not to mention two blankets-worth, four shawls-worth and six socks-worth. And other bits and pieces that can be used for toys, dolls’ clothes and so on. So I wasn’t really short of anything to knit.

Then my mother sent me a link to the Black Sheep‘s yarn sale and there was Rowan Wool Tweed reduced to less than £2 a ball and so I held my breath and just went ahead and ordered enough for a plain sweater for the Bear. I had to drop everything else and knit it at top speed to hide the evidence and so that it could never count as stash. It’s a pathetic fiction, obviously, but I worry that there are things in the stash that have been there for a year or two or more and there might be jealousy issues.

Anyway, it’s a splendidly simple pattern – a Debbie Bliss freebie. Child’s Denim Sweater. It’s the same front and back, which is handy when your toddler is learning to dress themselves.  The yarn is cosy and the fleck is pretty. But don’t tell my stash I did it.

Leave a Reply

