Things we have left undone

Attentive readers may have noticed a plethora of Finished Objects in the last week or two. This is partly because I’d been too lazy/busy to blog since August so there’s some catchup to be done, but also because sometimes the habit of knitting several things at once pays off and you have one FO per day for about a week. It’s great, and almost makes up for not having finished anything at all in the previous four months.

So, in the interests of balance, here’s one of the Unfinished Objects currently lounging around the living room being occasionally marauded by babies.

This is sockyarn I bought at the Knitting & Stitching Show at Alexandra Palace in October. It was interesting but a bit of a bunfight, and crowds aren’t really my thing so I’m not sure if I’ll go again, but I did come away with this slow-colour-change pink-and-purple from Regia (Regia Design Line Hand Dye Effect by Kaffe Fassett in Balloon). Nice enough, but not a patch on Violet Green‘s sockyarns. The socks are going to be fraternal rather than identical because the pattern repeat on the colour change is about eight inches and I couldn’t tell where I was in the repeat when I started the second sock. I don’t really like that, and there’s a stripe across the front of the ankle after I join up from the heel again, so I don’t think these are going to become Favourite Socks. But – socks are socks are socks.

Leave a Reply

