Posh cricket sweater

I started this last Easter, as my reward for dutifully working on One Project Only during Lent (I am generally no good at project-monogamy). I’d been wanting a cricket sweater for ages but couldn’t find any patterns I liked. Patterns for men were all too wide – generously proportioned for too many cricket teas – and there just didn’t seem to be any for women. So I was delighted to find this one in Debbie Bliss’s Spring/Summer magazine 2010. For once I used the colourway in the design.

Took flipping ages because I got sidetracked into other projects (of course). The yarn was a bit splitty to work with – it’s Debbie Bliss Amalfi, which is cotton, rayon, linen and silk. A really lovely drape and very comfortable – fine and not bulky at all. But, as I say – splitty.

I didn’t bother swatching, because I never do (I’d always been too lazy to and then the Yarn Harlot put me off it for life with some proper reasons) but I’m pretty sure I was close to gauge. It does what all cotton sweaters do though – drop under its own weight. I don’t mind – it’s a summer sweater after all so some ‘hang’ is nice- but it does mean that its low neck makes it unlikely I’ll wear it by itself. Unless I’m trying to get a better price at the butcher.

Leave a Reply

