The dog days… it must be sweater-time

The height of August is generally when I start getting irritated by summer and want it to be over so I can get back to fires, casseroles, blankets and the other winter comforts. Not to mention being able to have The Big Tidy Up in the garden and chop everything back. I like to clear all the overgrowth and get back to the bones of the garden.

However, this year the weather has beaten me to it. I don’t know what it’s like where you are but here it’s been chilly, rainy, windy and generally autumn-like recently. We’re promised a couple of nice days later this week but I think that’s basically it for summer. Yay!

Either way, it’s definitely time to cast on for winter sweaters. The Other Half is getting a lovely new one this winter – Flint, in Sublime Merino DK. Which I wish I’d given slightly more thought to, as knitting a sweater for  medium-to-large man (or probably a man of any size)  in DK is clearly going to be a long task. The yarn is gorgeously soft – sadly my hands aren’t and I keep catching it on rough fingers. All those miles of rib are going to take me a while.

The other one that’s still on the needles was supposed to be a summer sweater for me, but I’m telling myself that as it’s got silk in it it’ll be quite warm for the autumn.

The Amalfi creates lovely stitch definition and has a really nice drape.

Not too far to go but I’m pretty certain I’m going to run out of yarn… I’m just hoping to get the rest of the sleeve out of what I’ve got left, then buying one in a different dye lot for the neckband won’t matter too much.

Leave a Reply

