Knickers!

Pilchers are knickers! (See Bonnets and bootees.) Or nappy-coverings. Knitting them has made it clear.

Also it seems, once I’d googled, that it’s a very old English word derived from coverings of skins. These aren’t made from skins, I’d like to make clear. The Aussies and Kiwis must have kept the word when we’ve stopped using it – you can still buy pilchers in Australia. Glad that’s cleared up.

The Bear has cottoned on to what I’m doing, and although it means she’s less likely to attack my knitting, it now means that she goes through all the dolly pattern books on the shelf, bringing them to me and ordering ‘Knit that!’. I may be making dolly clothes for the forseeable future. In any case, this is where we are on that particular set:

I’m going to have another go at the too-small bonnet (Bonnets and bootees), because on this doll (who still isn’t as large as the doll-size the pattern is for) it looks like a yarmulke. My best guess is that instead of ‘cast on 52’ it should be cast on ‘152’. Going to give that a go, anyway!

Leave a Reply

