Giving something up for Lent

I’m feeling guilty about the projects languishing half-finished, marked as ‘hibernating’ in my Ravelry list. It’s a dangerous thing, that category – having projects hibernating makes it sound as though at a perfect time of their choosing they’ll emerge yawning and blinking and finish themselves off. Which is clearly not the case, as I’ve had a sampler aran blanket hibernating for about two and a half years now (since I restarted knitting, pretty much). Along with various other projects, some of which are official (ie have a pattern, enough yarn and I know what I’m doing with them) and some of which are a bit random (don’t really have a pattern, possibly not enough yarn, or not the right sort of yarn, or I’ve forgotten where I was going with it). An example of the latter would be 12 inches of i-cord, which doubtless had a purpose at some point but now I have no idea what I thought I was going to use it for.

All of which is a preamble to a Lenten resolution. Not that I’m a Catholic, but I was brought up as one and having 40 days of doing somethingĀ seems like a respectable amount of time without being endless. During Lent I Will Not Start Any New Projects and I will try VERY hard to finish up some of the ones on the go. Regardless of whether they’re flagged as Works In Progress or Hibernating. Starting with the blanket. These are some of the squares – let’s see where we get to.

Leave a Reply

