Pretty in pink

This is such an awesome colour of baby cashmerino – if the yarn wasn’t so pricey I’d knit myself something in this colour. The photo doesn’t do it justice so I might try again on a white background – it’s a lovely rich puce. It’s going to be a tank top in a cabled cricket-sweater pattern for The Bear. I have some doubts about Debbie’s pattern, though – it’s from her spring magazine last year and it calls for three balls of the main colour. Well, I’m not halfway up the back and I’m halfway through one ball, so I think it’s going to be very tight on the yarn indeed.

I’m using a technique I haven’t tried before for the cables, because you’re cabling single stitches forward and back in every right side row and doing it with a cable needle would be tedious in the extreme, so I’m doing without a cable needle… Basically you knit around the stitch you would have cable-needled, then pinch it, take it off the needle and put it back on again in the right place. I got the technique from The Knitter magazine a couple of issues ago and it’s saved me bags of time.

Leave a Reply

