Dear departed

Right. This alphabet blanket then. I wanted it to be more rectangular than square, so I thought I’d adapt the pattern. The original pattern called for six rows of five letters, including four diamond corner squares. I decided I’d adapt it by doing six rows of four letters each.

Everyone spotted my error by now? Pity me, for I had knitted three rows of letters before I spotted it. And this was after the gritted-teeth frogging when I’d discovered a missing stitch thirty rows previously. And then did it again. So some of this blanket has been knitted three times.

For anyone who is having a moment of blindness like mine, my error is that six rows x four squares is 24. There are 26 letters in the alphabet.

In some ways it was a relief, because I wasn’t really enjoying knitting it, but I was getting through it. So tonight it dies. Here’s the photo of it as far as I got yesterday before realising my error with a sinking heart. Bye bye blanket!

Alphabet blanket

The fun question is… what do I knit next?

Leave a Reply

