Blocked, stopped and mojo-less

Every now and then, the knitting mojo mysteriously ups sticks and departs. I haven’t knit a stitch for a week, which is practically unheard-of. The last thing I was knitting was Debbie Bliss’s alphabet blanket (here’s a pic on someone else’s blog!) and I’d completed the second row of letters when I noticed I’d lost a stitch somewhere. It turned out to be about an inch from the bottom edge. I had two choices – frog 10 inches of pattern or sneak in an extra stitch and carry on, whistling nonchalantly as though nothing had happened. I hummed and hahhed for a couple of days, then took a deep breath and ripped it back. So now I’m here:

and despondent. I don’t know whether my lack of desire to knit is to do with the depressing-ness of having to reknit pattern I’d already done, or the fact that, actually, I don’t really like the colour… It’s Rowan Cashsoft Aran, which is lovely to knit with. It’s smooth, regular, has a slight sheen and creates a fabric with a lovely drape. But I don’t like the colour. Entirely my own fault for buying yarn on eBay when I couldn’t afford the full price yarn from a yarn shop. Nothing in the rest of the stash is really calling to me, either. So I’m just going to wait until the mojo returns.

4 thoughts on “Blocked, stopped and mojo-less

  1. Octavia, I hope your mojo returns. I wonder if you would accept a gift from me that might help? I would need a shipping address to send it to – even though by the time it got to you you’d probably be knitting again … Please let me know. You can e-mail me directly.
    Hugzzz 😎

    • Hi Hugzzz! That’s a very generous offer and a kind thought – I’m very grateful! I hope you won’t be offended though if I say just say thank you for the thought? I’m perhaps over-sensitive about giving out personal details online – I’m sure you understand! Happy knitting!
      Octavia

    • I’m a total sucker for baby cashmerino (even though it doesn’t wash quite as well as Debbie Bliss might have us think…) I will definitely check out that offer!

Leave a Reply

