Hat-knitting – just in time for the end of winter

Obviously when I’ve got four miles of i-cord to knit, a second sampler aran blanket to finish, a scarf on the go, and two-thirds of a husband-sweater done, what I really really need to do is cast on another project…

Earflap hat-flaps

I’ve been hankering after kntting an earflap hat for the Bear for a while, and have read several patterns. I didn’t really fall for any of them though, so I’ve decided to wing it and invent my own. The principle of an earflap hat is simple enough – you knit the flaps then cast on some stitches for the front and back, then you’re away. But I like the edging that an i-cord can give it, so what I’m keen to do is split the i-cord as the flap part starts, and then knit up the flap separately so the i-cord can carry on round the edge.  Clearly, fiddling with this is far more fun and crucial than actually working on any of the easy-peasy projects that are going on elsewhere.

Leave a Reply

