New Year, old project

I am determined. This year I will Finish More Things. And avoid the seduction of casting new things on while current projects languish in the Great Basket of Forgotten.

With that in mind I cast on a new square for my sampler aran blanket last night. This has been lurking and not progressing for at least a year – I don’t think I knit a single stitch on it in 2009. For some reason in my head it always looked rubbish and I got disheartened, but when I got it out a few days ago I thought  ‘actually that doesn’t look half bad’. I love cables and lacy patterns, and even if you know that all that marketing garbage about people on Aran identifying the bodies of washed-up loved ones (how gruesome?) by their sweater patterns is – well – marketing garbage (ie not true), cables are endlessly fascinating. It never ceases to engage me how one stitch this way, two stitches that way (or whatever) can result in an intricate web of pretty twistingness. I’ve got a whole book of cable patterns and still find others on the interweb. These are a couple of the blocks to date – I’m on block 12 of 25.

Afghan block

Another afghan block

It does feel good to be nearly halfway through the block stage – after that comes the border stage and I’m not quite sure how I’m going to do that. In any case it feels good to be working on a blanket when the world outside looks like this:

Snowy garden

and the thermometer hasn’t gone above freezing for days.

Leave a Reply

