Terrifyingly skinny yarn

I admit, I was reckless. I thought  – ‘I’ve knitted a couple of lace shawls now, and a couple of lace blankets: lace knitting and all its yarns can hold no terrors for me’. I was wrong.  This arrived yesterday.

Cobweb yarn - and they're not kidding

Cobweb yarn - and they're not kidding

My 4,500m (that’s four and a half kilometres of yarn, or the entire distance from my house to the other side of the city) of single ply Jamieson & Smith Shetland Supreme cobweb weight yarn. The yarn sitting next to it is standard 2ply.  It’s thinner than I thought wool could conceivably be spun.  So skinny it looks like anything I knit with it will be completely transparent. Gulp. I think I will need to think carefully and with an absence of recklessness about what I actually knit with this scary stuff.

2 thoughts on “Terrifyingly skinny yarn

  1. Why an absence of recklessness? Jump in! Flail around! You’ve only got 4.5km of yarn, be careless with it. Yes, speaking from experience, the first time you cast on and try to work with it, you’ll quite possibly feel uncoordinated. That will pass. 🙂 Good luck!

  2. Pingback: Lacy shawl | Knit Oxford

Leave a Reply

